Emmanuel

Home » Uncategorized » Light

Light

candle-lightOne of my favourite sermons I delivered this year was based on a few verses in Romans chapter 10 that basically dealt with these questions —

  • How then are they to call upon Him in whom they have not believed?
  • How are they to believe Him whom they have not heard?
  • How are they to hear, if no one preaches?
  • How are we to preach unless we are sent?

Throughout my sermon I would sing a verse of “This little light of mine” – yes, the Sunday School song we all used to sing and I applied its very adult theology to this church in Flamborough, Ontario.

Light is the essence of who God is.  In heaven there will be no need for our artificial light for God will shed His light on everyone.

I can tell you that this year, as I have been given the call and the responsibility to walk every day knowing that God was walking with me, my days have been clear.  Even in the midst of momentary darkness, the light was there to break that darkness and to sustain me on my walk.  It has been my measurement in my relationship with God – when there was light, there was God and when there was no light, I sought God and found Him quickly.

What is in store for 2014?

God has given me Psalm 1:6 for this coming year – ” God charts the road you take.”  You can follow me by following this new link – http://evanlaar2014.wordpress.com

I am looking forward to how God will chart my road and where this road will lead me and in doing so share that journey with you.

Grace and peace to you in 2014.


5 Comments

  1. 66books365 says:

    I think WordPress’s “like” button is not working (not at my place either). So, here’s a “like” for your post.

  2. PASTOR DAVIS/MASTER TEACHER says:

  3. JESUS is the Light of the world.

    The Star of The Show

    Jesus calls us to Himself
    When The Show begins
    We’re infants – so He humors us
    It’s “Rocky and His Friends”

    Like a little squirrel dressed up
    As a flying superhero
    We give ourselves The Title
    And zoom around the atmosphere Oh!

    I have come to save the day!
    We proclaim with a big smile
    And Jesus is my co-pilot
    So I’m always on top of the pile

    God our Father loves his children
    He is patient as we grow
    So we take another step
    It’s “The Rocky and Bullwinkle Show”

    As we journey with The Moose
    Faithfully by our side
    We get a revelation
    We have to swallow our pride

    “He must become greater”
    He really is The Star
    “I must become less,” but still
    With Him I’ll travel far

    “You must follow me,” says Jesus
    In His eyes I see a twinkle
    He is not MY friend I am HIS
    Jesus is The Star – like Bullwinkle

  4. Let’s listen to the voice of Jesus – He is God !

    Poem – Looking forward (Rocky)

    Jesus never calls us out
    For what we used to be.
    His voice is so much greater
    Than paul the Pharisee.

    “You are Simon son of John”
    Said Jesus, without elaboration.
    No mention of a cloudy past
    No hint of condemnation.

    No accusation against the brothers
    No comments dark and obscure,
    Writing to the Church in Corinth
    “that is what some of you were.”

    Not the voice of the accuser,
    Boss Paul the Pharisee,
    Telling the redeemed people of God
    About what they used to be.

    Jesus never said right is wrong,
    He never said wrong is right.
    He came so we can turn from darkness
    And into His glorious light.

    “Neither do I condemn you” said Jesus,
    To a woman entrapped by dogs.
    The game the dogs play is the same today,
    Except now they do it on blogs.

    “Go, and sin no more” said Jesus,
    Don’t relive that history.
    Look forward, not back, don’t dwell on your past.
    “You will be called” Rocky.

    Looking forward – Chapter 2

    “I am he who searches hearts and minds”
    says the Risen Jesus Christ
    “Repent and do what you did at first”
    Don’t be lazy since He paid the price

    Yes, Jesus sees our sins today
    Don’t think that He is blind
    But the words of paul the Pharisee
    Will put you in a bind

    Jesus washed away your sins
    Don’t listen to paul the accuser
    paul abandoned the Church in Corinth
    And then paul became an abuser

    When you put your trust in Jesus
    Yes, your stains were white as snow
    You didn’t need to wear a Scarlet Letter
    Everywhere you go

    “I will repay each of you
    According to your deeds”
    This is Jesus speaking to The Church
    Not a business selling felt needs

    For “those who claim to be apostles”
    Jesus said they must be “tested”
    Priscilla, Aquila, and Apollos
    Persevered and were not bested

    They exposed the false teachings
    Of paul the Pharisee
    So the Church in Ephesus rejected paul
    And had a chance to be free

    Bibliography
    All quotes in “Chapter 2” are the words of Jesus, in Revelation Chapter 2

Leave a comment

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 161 other subscribers
“Behold, a virgin shall conceive and bear a son, and his name shall be called Emman′u-el” (which means, God with us)." Matthew 1:23 RSV
December 2013
M T W T F S S
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031