Emmanuel

Home » Uncategorized » Overtaken

Overtaken

overtaken

There are a couple of things I have noticed in regards to temptation when it comes to my walk with Jesus.

First, I love that walk so much that I find it easy to judge others who find it difficult themselves to stay committed to a relationship with Jesus and then, in my pride, I find that I can just as easily fall into the same fate if I rest on myself and my own righteousness.

So when I meet another man like me who has somehow been overtaken by sin and has fallen for that temptation and it now owns him – I have a specific call and duty in my relationship with another follower of Jesus.

It is my privilege to come alongside him, with a spirit of gentleness and help him see how he can restore his relationship with God and with the followers of Jesus.

I know this is difficult for some.  Last night in a discussion about relationships, one man continually brought up the ten commandments and the violation of the law – grace was not a part of his language at all.

What he was missing was that when we bear the burdens of others we fulfill the law of Christ.  For if we do not look to ourselves as weak vessels – there go I except for the grace of God – we too will be tempted.  We may have strength over a particular temptation our friend is experiencing but we will fall prey to another just the same.

Basically, if we think we are something, we are actually nothing. and we are only operating in a state of denial.

 

2 Comments

  1. nopew says:

    ““So, people who think they are standing firmly should be careful that they don’t fall” (1 Corinthians 10:12 GW).
    Peace

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 165 other followers

“Behold, a virgin shall conceive and bear a son, and his name shall be called Emman′u-el” (which means, God with us)." Matthew 1:23 RSV
September 2013
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  
