Emmanuel

Home » Uncategorized » The Law

The Law

law

Still remember teaching an adult Sunday School class at my favourite English church for a Chinese community of believers.

In the audience was the pastor, elders and graduates from seminary.

They wanted me to teach how to defend their faith, I countered with lessons that would enable them to step up to the microphone and be bold about their faith.

My first lesson – The authority of the Bible?  My main preference is that it is a love letter from God revealing to us, through the Holy Spirit, the character and mind of God as He extends and invitation to us to have relationship with Him.

The seminary grads just about took a fit.  Hands went in the air and they strongly suggested that the Bible was a guidebook or book with boundaries that gave us directions as to what is right and wrong and enabling us to please God with our lives as we give them to Him.

I normally do not comment on denominations, but no matter what Seventh Day Adventist home I enter, by the time I leave, I am kindly reminded that I am going to hell because I do not follow the law.

For all who rely on works of the law are under a curse; for it is written, “Cursed be every one who does not abide by all things written in the book of the law, and do them.”

Well there it is – no person can be justified before God through the law for only through faith can the righteous live.  We know that the law does not rest on faith for those who follow the law will live by the law.

Christ redeemed us from the curse of the law, having become a curse for us — for it is written, “Cursed be every one who hangs on a tree”

It is because of Jesus that the blessing given to Abraham in Genesis became ours too – the promise of the Spirit through faith.

So I go back and re-state that my walk with Jesus is a walk that I am invited too.  I accept that walk and begin to journey my life through His eyes, call and character.  My purpose is now established and i walk in faith believing that as I walk with Him, He also is walking with me.

2 Comments

  1. nopew says:

    I agree. People want to “earn” salvation somehow, or earn brownie points. How arrogant! God did it all. Jesus is the ONLY one who can satisfy divine righteousness. We live by the gift of faith under the grace of God and delight in our relationship with Creator who so loves the created. That’s abundant life. And that’s a “walk” worth walking.
    Peace

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 165 other followers

“Behold, a virgin shall conceive and bear a son, and his name shall be called Emman′u-el” (which means, God with us)." Matthew 1:23 RSV

Top Posts & Pages

September 2013
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  
