Emmanuel

Home » Uncategorized » Martyrdom, old age or sickness – no worries

Martyrdom, old age or sickness – no worries

The_Christian_Martyrs_Last_Prayer_by_leon_gerome

The say that it will be this generation that produces the most martyrs ever in the history of Christianity.  I believe this to be true if only because of my work with the followers of Islam and the increase of intolerance in North America and Europe.

All in all I sense no worry – actually, even when faced with the possibility of death there might be an element of fear only because of those I am leaving behind – but I know that if this earthly body of mine is destroyed, I have a home given to me by God, not made with hands but rather will be my home for eternity in heaven.

I dream sometimes of what I would say if a gun was pointed at my head, or if I had the doctor say I had cancer and only 6 months to live – what would I say or do?

Sometimes I am bold and tell the person with the gun to go ahead and send me to glory and sometimes I tell the doctor that I do not want chemo as I am looking forward to meeting my Lord.  Sometimes I am not so bold – regardless these events only take place in my dreams.

What I do have is the Spirit of God given to me as a guarantee that God has indeed prepared a place for me.  In fact, I can confidently say that I will never be homeless.  I also know that if I continue to walk by faith and not by sight my courage will be sustained as I continue to please Him.

Therefore, knowing the fear of the Lord, I persuade followers of Jesus – no worries – to be absent from the body means to be present with the Lord.

 

4 Comments

  1. nopew says:

    Yes, that peace, that goes beyond human comprehension, rests within the Follower of Jesus. God will always give us what we need to do what God needs us to do. May that confidence in Christ drive the devil away.
    Peace

  2. Today works for me…get me off this rock! 😉
    \o/

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 165 other followers

“Behold, a virgin shall conceive and bear a son, and his name shall be called Emman′u-el” (which means, God with us)." Matthew 1:23 RSV
August 2013
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
