Emmanuel

Home » Uncategorized » In ministry by the mercy of God

In ministry by the mercy of God

in ministry by the mercy of GodI have now been serving in ministry for over 30 years and except for a few moments in time, I know that I have because of the mercy of God.

It has been unfortunate for me to see the disgraceful, underhanded ways that some have yielded to in order to tamper with God’s Word and maybe I should say that their skill and cunning at it is incredible.

For those who stay close to the truth and commend their conscience in the sight of God, we are the ones who count on the mercy of God, for we are the ones who seem not to see fruit.

If the gospel we do preach is veiled, it is veiled only to those who are perishing.  The god of this world has blinded the minds of the unbelievers, to keep them from seeing the light of the gospel of the glory of Christ.

Our call is not to preach ourselves, but Jesus Christ as Lord and we, as servants for Jesus sake.  It is because the God who declared, “Let light shine out of darkness,” has shone in our own hearts to give us the light of the knowledge of the glory of God that we do this.

In fact, that is why are earthly bodies are as weak as they are – they reveal that it is God’s power and not ours that works through us.

Now that I am ministering with SIM – Serving in Mission, I have the opportunity of hearing every week about the things Paul talks about to the Corinthian church – “We are afflicted in every way, but not crushed; perplexed, but not driven to despair; persecuted, but not forsaken; struck down, but not destroyed; always carrying in the body the death of Jesus, so that the life of Jesus may also be manifested in our bodies. For while we live we are always being given up to death for Jesus’ sake, so that the life of Jesus may be manifested in our mortal flesh.  So death is at work in us, but life in you.”

In fact, at the beginning of our ministry the call for ministry was rather simple – who wants to come and die – and that did not imply a spiritual death.

We believe and therefore we speak – it’s that simple.

It all comes back again to the fact that we know the one who raised the Lord Jesus and He will raise us to be with Jesus and into His presence.  It is because of this that God’s grace extends to more and more people every day – I heard that 70,000 people come to Christ each day.  We give thanks to the glory of God for all of this.

This means that I do not lose heart.  Even though things around me may not seem fruitful, or may even seem to be wasting away, my inner nature is being renewed every single day.  The few times that I feel afflicted beyond what I can handle, I see in hindsight that it is part of the preparation for an eternal weight of glory that I will not be able to compare to anything else.  I learn every time that I need to look, not at the seen but the unseen.  What I can see will pass, it’s the unseen that is eternal.

 

4 Comments

  1. nopew says:

    Bless you. It is what we do for Christ that counts, and so we count on Christ.
    Peace

  2. lbtk says:

    You always give my heart a lift. I love to read about (and share it myself) the Gospel. I want my walk to match my talk. It’s a huge calling. Have a blessed day. Sandy

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 165 other followers

“Behold, a virgin shall conceive and bear a son, and his name shall be called Emman′u-el” (which means, God with us)." Matthew 1:23 RSV

Top Posts & Pages

August 2013
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
