Emmanuel

Home » Uncategorized » Because we know we can ask forgiveness

Because we know we can ask forgiveness

forgiveness2It the truth isn’t it – when we are faced with our toughest temptations, our greatest compromise is that we know that once we have fallen, commit the sin, we will go before God and say sorry.

Even though the sorry can be filled with incredible remorse for its own shallowness, it’s the thought of how easy it is to compromise, sin, and then think that forgiveness is mine after the fall.

What are we really doing?

The whole idea was that Christ died for us, was buried for us, rose from the dead for us and that was for only one purpose – that we might enter into a new life, free from the slavery of sin.  What am I doing going back to that?

What does it take to crucify the old self?

The Holy Spirit will play a big part in that, but it needs my attitude adjustment, my obedience to the fact that I am dead to sin and alive to God.  It takes a decision that Christ will reign in my life and my obedience is not to my passions but to my purpose in Christ.

Set free from the law, and under grace, in thankfulness, I now need to become a slave to righteousness.

 

4 Comments

  1. Jess says:

    such a good daily reminder 🙂 Thanks!

  2. nopew says:

    Makes me think of “When I tried to obey the law’s standards, those laws killed me. As a result, I live in a relationship with God. I have been crucified with Christ. I no longer live, but Christ lives in me. The life I now live I live by believing in God’s Son, who loved me and took the punishment for my sins” Gal 2:19-20 (GW)
    A good reminder to start my day.
    Peace

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 165 other followers

“Behold, a virgin shall conceive and bear a son, and his name shall be called Emman′u-el” (which means, God with us)." Matthew 1:23 RSV
July 2013
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  
