Emmanuel

Home » Uncategorized » Getting the Invitation

Getting the Invitation

getting the invitationYou all know the story too well – Jesus turning the water into wine at the wedding.

I think what we miss the small fact that Jesus was invited to come.  He did not come accompanying His mother – He was invited.

How is our relationship with others?  Have we been having invitations to come and celebrate with others?  Does it matter that we are there where others are looking for a statement of blessing from your attendance?

This is an important matter because getting an invitation into someone’s space means that you are an accepted and trusted friend with a message that holds some sort of authenticity.

It is how I judge open doors to share the gospel.  If my walk with Jesus puts me in  a position to be invited into someone’s space, then I take Jesus with me.  If I take Him with me, I wait for the opportunity or the open door to which I can take someone into His presence with me.

Sometimes that means me just being me.  Other times it is given the opportunity to say grace before a meal or giving a toast to the guest of honour or sharing a memory that really mattered.

Then there are times where I meet people who want to invite me into their home so that they and their whole family may hear the gospel and ask questions.  These times are most precious.  This is where Church begins and I always pray that the Church will grow and stay strong at this important moment.

But none of this happens without the invitation – today, get the invitation, the rest of what happens depends on the move of the Holy Spirit – just be ready to be when He calls you to be.

 

2 Comments

  1. This brought important conviction about missing some valuable moments and events where I was invited and ought to have been…but missed out on because of one thing or another. An important teaching. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 165 other followers

“Behold, a virgin shall conceive and bear a son, and his name shall be called Emman′u-el” (which means, God with us)." Matthew 1:23 RSV

Top Posts & Pages

May 2013
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  
