Emmanuel

Home » Uncategorized » A Parent’s Blessing

A Parent’s Blessing

jesus mary chinI was once a child.

I remember growing up knowing that I was not only a blessing to my parents, but called of God for a purpose in life and that made me even more valuable in their eyes and gave them more purpose in my upbringing.

When I became a parent, holding my first-born son in my arms for the very first time, I began to bless him and pray over him – I will never forget the feeling of how I felt the Spirit of God leaving me and entering my son.  We called him Andrew, after the first evangelist in the Bible and since we were from Dutch heritage, Brother Andrew from Open Doors ministry.

Since that time I was blessed to have a son, to be able to give him back to God and then be responsible to bring him up to follow and to serve Him.

It changes you as a person these little things in life that bring such significance.  I was a man at this moment in life because of my son – in many ways, I believe I have been blessed so much because of how I have seen the hand of God in his life.

He is now coming to an age of marriage himself and I look forward to the time I will be able to bless Him one more time before he stands before God holding his own child.  I am prepared for that special day and that special woman who will be part of his life – my blessing will be very generous but specific – may their children be a blessing to them because God will allow them to see His call and purpose in their lives.

Parents’ Blessing Song – Mela Kamin 

Ukrainian Wedding: “Parents’ Blessing” St. Elias Church

 

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 165 other followers

“Behold, a virgin shall conceive and bear a son, and his name shall be called Emman′u-el” (which means, God with us)." Matthew 1:23 RSV
March 2013
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
