Emmanuel

Home » Uncategorized » By what authority are you doing what you do?

By what authority are you doing what you do?

Jesus heals in the Temple

I am not suggesting that I have an answer when Jesus refused to give an answer to a similar question.  However, I think we need to ask ourselves this question to make sure we are still doing what we are doing for all the right reasons.

I think about those who cast out demons, healed the sick etc. and were not invited into heaven – mostly due to what I believe is the answer to this question.

I believe that answer is two-fold.

The first one is quite simple.  If what you are doing brings life, abundant life then you know your authority comes from Jesus.  If you find yourself instead stealing, killing, or destroying, then you know that your authority comes from Satan.

The second one is a bit more complicated.  When it comes to walking with God, are we walking in total obedience in everything we do?  If we have decided at any point in time to do some and not some others then we are operating in our own authority.

Our walk with God is one of commitment to follow and not to lead or not to be following 50 feet away – it is a walk that is side by side, hand in hand.

I am thinking right now just how I have done both and yet my heart desires to walk with God.  I am challenged again today to understand that my authority is His that He gives me to live for Him.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 165 other followers

“Behold, a virgin shall conceive and bear a son, and his name shall be called Emman′u-el” (which means, God with us)." Matthew 1:23 RSV

Top Posts & Pages

March 2013
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
