Emmanuel

Home » Uncategorized » Arguments

Arguments

evewithserpent

I run into Christian apologetics all the time.  Some are quiet proud of their ability to weave mastery between words and thought, others create confusion and stress to then swing around and declare they know the way out.

I am pretty sure that I will never be an apologist. I can’t keep all the facts in my head and find it easier to lead with my heart.  Discernment is more my strength and allowing time for the relationship to matter.

So when I am asked to do a class that will help participants to defend their faith, I usually decline and ask can I do a class that will enable them to foster a better relationship with God.  In so doing, their response will not be what was taught, but is more based on what the Holy Spirit has engaged them with in their own life.  I am not saying experience trumps knowledge, I am saying that knowledge is gained and gleaned in association with experience and then lends credibility to what was learned as truth.

Then there are those still seeking a sign of some sort.  If God will do this then He matters.  I am afraid I am losing my niece.  She made a decision to follow Jesus but now that she still has not found a job she is thinking why am I following Him?  One has to wonder the intent of such decisions and hence why it is so important to disciple new followers.

The world will always be looking for a sign – signs will come and go and they still will not be followers.  Following Jesus has nothing to do with a sign.  So why do we worry about such things.  Leave those who want a sign alone and go to the one who wants to hear that the kingdom of heaven is at hand.

Leave the arguments to those who like to argue.  Have you ever seen them before?  Is there really a winner?  No, the “loser” goes and prepares themselves for a better argument the next time.  If there was a winner, then there would be a new follower of Jesus.

New Atheist Arguments Against God’s Existence Refuted

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 165 other followers

“Behold, a virgin shall conceive and bear a son, and his name shall be called Emman′u-el” (which means, God with us)." Matthew 1:23 RSV

Top Posts & Pages

February 2013
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728  
