Emmanuel

Home » Uncategorized » How to handle a test

How to handle a test

How to handle a testThere is always someone who thinks you are pretty smug in your relationship with God.  They will want to test you and reveal that you are actually immature in your viewpoint and possess a very small worldview when it comes to your “religion.”

They will do this with questions that have made them successful in the past.

Questions like – what is God’s name?  How old is the earth?  Evolution or Intelligent design? If God is God, why is there evil in the world?

I get these all the time.  In some way, our failure to adequately answer these questions causes them to feel smug about their own rejection of God and feel a bit smug on how smart they really are.

Let me suggest some things I have learned in my walk with God.

I found when I answer the bigger question, I reveal how insignificant their question actually is.  When I follow through with the relationship that God invites us to have with Him, I usually get a rejection – hence, not a true desire to know and understand the truth. So following my answer to them with another question is a good way to show them that we all do not know everything.  Which leads to asking them if they would like a copy of the instruction manual for our lives that our Creator took time to write over the past 4,000 years for us.

Le’s take this for example, God’s name.  God is named so many names yet there is only one name that He identified Himself with and that name encompasses everything – “I am.” It’s rather simple and pointed.  “I am” omniscient, omnipotent, omnipresence.  “I am” the alpha and omega, the beginning and the end.  At the same time, He is my God and invites me to be part of His family.  “I am” becomes my Father, my Saviour, my Teacher, my Counsellor, my Wisdom.   If God is absolutely everywhere and involved in everything when was the last time you called out God’s name to ask Him a question or who do you go to that has all the answers to life?

Another example would be, why there is evil in this world.  God created evil, uses evil, punishes evil and controls evil.  We would rather follow evil than God.  In fact, if it were not for God calling our name, the chances of me making a decision to follow God could not be possible.  Evil has its purposes in the world and like rain, it falls on the good and the bad.  The difference between you and me is that when evil falls on you, you have to go through it alone.  When  I experience a journey through evil, I hold the right hand of God and He becomes my shield,my refuge, and my strength.  Why do you want to go through life alone?

Two things will happen as a result.  One is that will start to get serious about their questions to find out more about this relationship that they are missing with God or they will stop asking questions altogether because you keep bringing up your relationship with God that they are still running away from.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 165 other followers

“Behold, a virgin shall conceive and bear a son, and his name shall be called Emman′u-el” (which means, God with us)." Matthew 1:23 RSV

Top Posts & Pages

February 2013
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728  
