Emmanuel

Home » Uncategorized » Keys of the Kingdom of Heaven

Keys of the Kingdom of Heaven

keys to the kingdom of heavenHow many books have you read on this subject and how many sermons have you heard where the author or the speaker has tried to explain what the keys of the kingdom are?

I have read lots and have heard lots – the attributes, the characteristics and the spirituals laws all necessary for us to possess the keys to the kingdom.

A Facebook posting got my attention the other day that got me thinking about this.  It asked the question – what is the key to the kingdom?

My thinking went straight to – love the Lord with all your heart, soul and mind – because I was thinking of how one enters into the kingdom.

But today, I was reading the scripture portion and what it actually says is that Jesus will give us the keys to the kingdom – go figure!

It has nothing to do with us, nothing to do with how spiritual we are or how close we walk with Him or how pure our hearts are.  I can’t go around and say, “look at my keys to the kingdom, I am more special than anyone else.”

Because I have chosen to follow Jesus and walk with God, Jesus will give me the keys to the kingdom of heaven.  What keys they are or will be and for how long I will need to possess these keys will depend on my call and my purpose for the day.  But the primary thought that took me by surprise is that the these keys are not something I can attain or develop or produce in my life – they are given to my by Jesus!

I have to admit that I am stunned today and terribly wish I wasn’t considering how long I have been a follower of Jesus.  In my decision to live my life as if God was walking right alongside me, I am looking forward to understanding and possessing a key to the kingdom of heaven.  I can only pray that I will be responsible enough and wise enough to use it for the purpose God intended and to ensure that He is glorified and honoured by everything He has called me to do.

 

 

4 Comments

  1. Scott Sholar says:

    Thank you for sharing, and God bless you.

  2. raynita says:

    We are reminded in our prayers: “On earth as it is in heaven”. There is kingdom there. Rule and reign.
    Bless you!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 165 other followers

“Behold, a virgin shall conceive and bear a son, and his name shall be called Emman′u-el” (which means, God with us)." Matthew 1:23 RSV

Top Posts & Pages

January 2013
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
