Emmanuel

Home » Uncategorized » Wisdom is justified by her deeds

Wisdom is justified by her deeds

eatingwithsinnersI believe there is another call out there that says, “Those who have ears to hear, let them hear.”

John the Baptist was as perfect a prophet as there ever was.  He turned his back on the world and followed only God‘s call.  He fasted, kept to a strict diet of necessary food only, never touched a drop of alcohol and there were people who thought he was demonized.  Jesus came and spent time with sinners and was with them while they were eating and drinking and having fellowship with them.  He was called a glutton and a drunk, friend of evil and sinful people.

So what made it all right, what was the line drawn in the sand that gave authority to both extremes to be both called of God?  What do I look for in whatever situation I am in to make sure I am doing what God wants me to do and that I bring Him glory and not disgrace?

One thing for sure, “the ends do not justify the means.”  I hear a lot of people talking like this and I can tell that this is definitely not true.  It is never right to coerce, bribe or manipulate to obtain ones desires – there is no wisdom in that.

I also recall something Socrates said when he was being accused of something.  One of his students came running into his office exclaiming that he had to go out to the square immediately to defend himself from accusations.  His reply was  interesting – I live my life revealing the type of person I am.  If the accusation fits, then everyone will know it is true – if it doesn’t everyone will know it is false.  There is no need to defend myself – my life defends myself.

So it is my life – its purpose – those actions signify who I am.  If I am wise, my life’s purpose will be what reveals that I am.  May everyone see God in me as I carry out His plan for my life.

 

 

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 165 other followers

“Behold, a virgin shall conceive and bear a son, and his name shall be called Emman′u-el” (which means, God with us)." Matthew 1:23 RSV

Top Posts & Pages

January 2013
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
